diff --git a/docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md b/docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md index e41dad495a..f6533bfaea 100644 --- a/docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md +++ b/docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md @@ -281,3 +281,46 @@ No, you won't experience data loss when you update fleetctl. Note that you can r ## Can I disable usage statistics via the config file or a CLI flag? Apart from an admin [disabling usage](https://fleetdm.com/docs/using-fleet/usage-statistics#disable-usage-statistics) statistics on the Fleet UI, you can edit your `fleet.yml` config file to disable usage statistics. Look for the `server_settings` in your `fleet.yml` and set `enable_analytics: false`. Do note there is no CLI flag option to disable usage statistics at this time. +## How do I downgrade from Fleet Premium to Fleet Free? + +How to downgrade from Fleet Premium to Fleet Free: + +First, back up your users and update all team-level users to global users: + +1. Run the `fleetctl get user_roles > user_roles.yml` command. Save the `user_roles.yml` file so + that, if you choose to upgrade later, you can restore user roles. +2. Head to the **Settings > Users** page in the Fleet UI. +3. For each user that has any team listed under the **Teams** column, select **Actions > Edit**, + then select + **Global user**, and then select **Save**. If a user shouldn't have global access, delete this user. + +Next, move all team-level scheduled queries to the global level: +1. Head to the **Schedule** page in the Fleet UI. +2. For each scheduled query that belongs to a team, copy the name in the **Query** column, select + **All teams** in the top dropdown, select **Schedule a query**, past the name in the **Select + query** field, choose the frequency, and select **Schedule**. +3. Delete each scheduled query that belongs to a team because they will no longer run on any hosts + following the downgrade process. + +Next, move all team level policies to the global level: +1. Head to the **Policies** page in the Fleet UI. +2. For each policy that belongs to a team, copy the **Name**, **Description, **Resolve**, + and **Query**. Then, select **All teams** in the top dropdown, select **Add a policy**, select + **create your own policy**, paste each item in the appropriate field, and select **Save**. +3. Delete each policy that belongs to a team because they will no longer run on any hosts +following the downgrade process. + +Next, back up your teams: +1. Run the `fleetctl get teams > teams.yml` command. Save the `teams.yml` file so +that, if you choose to upgrade later, you can restore teams. +2. Head to the **Settings > Teams** page in the Fleet UI. +3. Delete all teams. This will move all hosts to the global level. + +Lastly, remove your Fleet Premium license key: +1. Remove your license key from your Fleet configuration. Documentation on where the license key is + located in your configuration is [here](https://fleetdm.com/docs/deploying/configuration#license). +2. Restart your Fleet server. + + + +