Docs: update wipe a host guide (#26377)

Related to: #24654

Added a callout to describe that the host should be deleted after it's
wiped if a user wants to re-enroll the host and escrow a new disk
encryption key.
This commit is contained in:
Marko Lisica
2025-02-17 09:40:44 -05:00
committed by GitHub
parent efee4906f2
commit b703e2e3de
+2
View File
@@ -24,6 +24,8 @@ Currently, there's no **Lock** button for iOS and iPadOS. If an iOS or iPadOS ho
3. Click the **Actions** dropdown, then click **Wipe**.
4. Confirm that you want to wipe the device in the dialog. The host will now be marked with a "Wipe pending" badge. Once the wipe command is acknowledged by the host, the badge will update to "Wiped".
> When wiping and re-installing the operating system (OS) for a host, also delete it from Fleet before you re-enroll it. If you re-enroll without deleting, a new disk encryption key wont be escrowed.
## Unlock a host
1. Navigate to the **Hosts** page by clicking the "Hosts" tab in the main navigation header. Find the device you want to unlock. You can search by name, hostname, UUID, serial number, or private IP address in the search box in the upper right corner.