feat: document downgrade process from fleet premium to fleet free (#5985)

* feat: document downgrade process from fleet premium to fleet free

* Update docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md

Co-authored-by: Desmi-Dizney <99777687+Desmi-Dizney@users.noreply.github.com>

* Update docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md

Co-authored-by: Desmi-Dizney <99777687+Desmi-Dizney@users.noreply.github.com>

* Update downgrade process

* fix: typos

* Update docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md

Co-authored-by: Desmi-Dizney <99777687+Desmi-Dizney@users.noreply.github.com>

* Update docs/Using-Fleet/FAQ.md

Co-authored-by: Desmi-Dizney <99777687+Desmi-Dizney@users.noreply.github.com>

Co-authored-by: Desmi-Dizney <99777687+Desmi-Dizney@users.noreply.github.com>
Co-authored-by: Noah Talerman <noahtal@umich.edu>
This commit is contained in:
Kelvin Oghenerhoro Omereshone
2022-07-04 18:50:31 +01:00
committed by GitHub
co-authored by Desmi-Dizney Noah Talerman
parent f20530e708
commit e985ec4980
+43
View File
@@ -281,3 +281,46 @@ No, you won't experience data loss when you update fleetctl. Note that you can r
## Can I disable usage statistics via the config file or a CLI flag?
Apart from an admin [disabling usage](https://fleetdm.com/docs/using-fleet/usage-statistics#disable-usage-statistics) statistics on the Fleet UI, you can edit your `fleet.yml` config file to disable usage statistics. Look for the `server_settings` in your `fleet.yml` and set `enable_analytics: false`. Do note there is no CLI flag option to disable usage statistics at this time.
## How do I downgrade from Fleet Premium to Fleet Free?
How to downgrade from Fleet Premium to Fleet Free:
First, back up your users and update all team-level users to global users:
1. Run the `fleetctl get user_roles > user_roles.yml` command. Save the `user_roles.yml` file so
that, if you choose to upgrade later, you can restore user roles.
2. Head to the **Settings > Users** page in the Fleet UI.
3. For each user that has any team listed under the **Teams** column, select **Actions > Edit**,
then select
**Global user**, and then select **Save**. If a user shouldn't have global access, delete this user.
Next, move all team-level scheduled queries to the global level:
1. Head to the **Schedule** page in the Fleet UI.
2. For each scheduled query that belongs to a team, copy the name in the **Query** column, select
**All teams** in the top dropdown, select **Schedule a query**, past the name in the **Select
query** field, choose the frequency, and select **Schedule**.
3. Delete each scheduled query that belongs to a team because they will no longer run on any hosts
following the downgrade process.
Next, move all team level policies to the global level:
1. Head to the **Policies** page in the Fleet UI.
2. For each policy that belongs to a team, copy the **Name**, **Description, **Resolve**,
and **Query**. Then, select **All teams** in the top dropdown, select **Add a policy**, select
**create your own policy**, paste each item in the appropriate field, and select **Save**.
3. Delete each policy that belongs to a team because they will no longer run on any hosts
following the downgrade process.
Next, back up your teams:
1. Run the `fleetctl get teams > teams.yml` command. Save the `teams.yml` file so
that, if you choose to upgrade later, you can restore teams.
2. Head to the **Settings > Teams** page in the Fleet UI.
3. Delete all teams. This will move all hosts to the global level.
Lastly, remove your Fleet Premium license key:
1. Remove your license key from your Fleet configuration. Documentation on where the license key is
located in your configuration is [here](https://fleetdm.com/docs/deploying/configuration#license).
2. Restart your Fleet server.